Taxes and immigration
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Dartanian

Korea
24 Posts

Posted - 03 Feb 2004 :  11:32:59  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi, I am an English teacher in Korea and last year I married a lady from Thailand. We want to go back to America in a year or so and are working on getting her a visa to America and then to become a Citizen. I am doing some papers for that because I am her sponsor and they ask for 3 years of tax returns which I have none...I have been working in Korea for 2 years and did not file taxes for the U.S. for over 3 years now. How do I answer these questions and how can we still be able to get a visa so my wife can become a Citizen. Please help with any information that you can.
I have been trying to study how to get out from under the system of IRS and so I quit filing and now I have my wife and dont know what to do. I was one of the guys who paid a lot for information on the process but the people I bought it from dont answer my questions and I feel lost on this subject.
Thankyou for help in advance.
Dartanian

Lewish
Advanced Member

uSA
496 Posts

Posted - 03 Feb 2004 :  11:51:32  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Dartanian,

A little more information would be helpful. For example, are YOU a U.S. citizen?

Lewis
Go to Top of Page

Dartanian

Korea
24 Posts

Posted - 03 Feb 2004 :  19:36:47  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I am an American. I was born in the state of Iowa and so I am not sure how to answer that in respect to the things I was learning concerning being a Citizen of the State of Iowa or a citizen of the U.S. Sorry, I am not trying to play with words.
So I guess I should say, "Yes, I was born in the USA so I am a US Citizen. Is there more information I can offer to help? I am just trying to figure out how to get my wife to be able to go to America and live there as a Citizen with me.
Thanks for your help.

Dartanian
Go to Top of Page

Manuel
Advanced Member

USA