New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Greg
Advanced Member

uSA
76 Posts

Posted - 14 Dec 2005 :  10:42:22  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Greetings brethren, This is my first post on this forum so first let me express my sincerest appreciation for the efforts of those who make this forum possible, including it's members whose sharing of knowledge and wisdom is invaluable. I wanted to pose a question to the forum that I have not seen come up or in any other forums, and I can't seem to find the answer. The question is this, Notaries in the Ohio area recieve their certification from the BAR association. Does this in any way render joinder or anything similar through our using them? If this is a novice question it's for good reason, I am a novice in so much as I have just recently begun my search for truth. I look forward to the forums insight in this matter.

Lewish
Advanced Member

uSA
496 Posts

Posted - 16 Dec 2005 :  19:58:24  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hello Greg,

Actually, I am sorry to have to correct you, but you are wrong. Notaries only have the appearance of certification from the BAR. The position of Notary Public is defined by International Law, and is established in this country by Treaty under the Hague Convention. There is an excellent federal court case in your state regarding this matter. If you need the case cite, post a request and I will go look it up.

In that case, the federal judge spelled out how a Notary Public comes into being, and that neither the BAR nor the state could prevent a non-United States citizen from becoming a Notary Public due to the requirements of both Treaty Law and International Law.