New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

veritas

uSA
23 Posts

Posted - 03 Jun 2006 :  16:17:41  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Greetings,

I am studying the "United States" and what that term means. I have a copy of Black's Law Dictionary Fifth and Seventh Editions. In the 5th the "United States" is defined but not the "United States of America" but in the 7th(which has a red cover by the way, not sure what that means) the term "United States" is NOT defined but the "United States of America" IS??

Does anybody have any insight into this?

Thanks in advance.

Peter

Edited by - veritas on 04 Jun 2006 11:35:56

Lewish
Advanced Member

uSA
496 Posts

Posted - 13 Jun 2006 :  11:35:27  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Peter,

Look up the definition of "UNITED STATES" in the United States Code at Title 28 Section 3002 Paragraph 15.

Then you will know everything that needs to be known about the UNITED STATES.

Peace,

Lewis
Go to Top of Page

Jay Scott
Advanced Member

uSA
181 Posts

Posted - 13 Jun 2006 :  18:51:30  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
quote:
Originally posted by Lewish
Look up the definition of "UNITED STATES" in the United States Code at Title 28 Section 3002 Paragraph 15.

Which I found here:

http://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/28/3002.html

...in pertinent part:

As used in this chapter [Federal Debt Collection Procedure]:
(15) “United States” means—
(A) a Federal corporation;
(B) an agency, department, commission, board, or other entity of the United States; or
(C) an instrumentality of the United States.

Jay
Go to Top of Page

veritas

uSA
23 Posts

Posted - 15 Jun 2006 :  10:19:21  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Thank you for your replies.

OK … I see that in the code but I also read above it and I assume that this statement boxes in the definition of the term. Is this true? How does this definition spread throughout the code?

<usc snippet>
As used in this chapter:
</usc snippet>
Go to Top of Page

Lewish